4 star reviews / book recommendations / Book Reviews / book talk

Casual Curses and Meticulous Magic (A Gramarye Novel Book 1) by Lee Roland

71ei6LsLVTL-194x300REVIEWED by J.A. Kenney

Review: 4.00 Stars

Summary:

Casual Curses & Meticulous Magic by Lee Roland is a new and different take on witches, the supernatural, and life.  It is a blend between Urban Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance with a focus on two main characters but a great deal of additional detail from the many important characters as well as a hint for the next romance.

Melian Devlin is a witch with issues, her magic never works as she intends, and she was orphaned at a young age. She has also known for years that she would inherent responsibility for the Gramarye.  The building, which is the source of all witches magic, also has a spirit and a mind of its own.

Titus Moran is a Private Investigator, ex-military, who turned down jobs with law enforcement agencies all the way up to the FBI when he retired. His father was killed in prison when he was still young.

The two come together to discover the truth about Titus’s father’s death, and the deeper evil that lurks in the shadows.

Positives:  This was a great blend between Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance. The action, plot, and feel of the book were Urban Fantasy, while the HEA, Split + 3rd Person POV, and romantic emotions expressed in the book were right out of the Romance handbook.

Magic and the modern world of the witch was rebooted and given a new and different spin.  It was an interesting mix of spell, potion, and personal magic, with unique supernatural creatures which include an asian style dragon, a demon, and a sentient plant.

Negatives: Because this is a blend it could lose readers who do not like one of genres, or people who expect very specific things from them.

Casual Curses is very clean, and does not include much more than fade to black sex scenes. So fans of Paranormal Romance who expect steamy, and detailed sex will not find that here.

Urban Fantasy is often much grittier, and does not often include even a Happy for Now, let alone a neat Happily Ever After.  The romance might seem too straight forward and easily resolved for fans of the much longer and more complex relationships common to UF.

Overall:

The plot, characters, and very well developed mythology blended to create a great story!

For fans of both Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance it creates a great combination of the two.

Keep Reading!

J.A. Kenney

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance

Publication date: September 17, 2014

Length: 284 Pages

Blush Quotient: Pink

Disclaimer: This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for a fair review.

Advertisements

One thought on “Casual Curses and Meticulous Magic (A Gramarye Novel Book 1) by Lee Roland

Comments are closed.